When this plane lands, part two…

Well- I guess we can see how that last “re-committment to the blog” went…  That was October, and it’s now January.  But now is the perfect time to refocus as so much has happened since then…

This past Friday I relocated from the east coast to the west coast for a new job.  The time since Christmas was a bit of a blur- packing some boxes (some, as it’s only a temporary relocation), making arrangements for my house, wrapping up work details…  I got to the airport Friday morning to head out here and I soon as I sat down in my seat I thought of this blog… and what my life was going to be like when this plane lands.

So what is life going to be like?  Well, first the place.  I had to select where to live based on what was available through corporate housing.  To be honest, I don’t think I could have gotten any more lucky.  I am living about 10 minutes from the Pacific Ocean in a charming, Orange county, very California.  And very perfect.  I have spent a lot of time out here on business trips over the last 15 years, but I have always been up in LA/Burbank/Glendale.  While there has always been a bit of a charm and attraction to California, there was something that just didn’t click with me.   Since I had never spent any real time in Orange County or by the beach, I never knew what I was missing.  And I never knew how well it would suit me.

I have only been here a few days, but I have already done a good deal of exploring.  There have been your typical activities- shopping for groceries, running to Target for supplies, running back to Target for the supplies that you forgot…  And inbetween, I’ve had two delicious meals, as well as some really good cookies, all at local restaurants.  I’ve also had some even more delicious beers.  I haven’t fully explored the mexican goodness that I can tell is everywhere out here, but lord knows I plan on it.

Tomorrow is the first day at work, so I did a ‘test drive’ today to make sure I knew how to get there.  It took right at 30 minutes on Sunday, so will be interesting to see tomorrow.  I’m going to give myself an hour, just to be safe.

But what does this move really mean?  Will I keep up my weight loss program?  Yes.  Will I make new friends?  Yes.  Will I launch into a relationship?  I sincerly hope so.  Sure, there are lots of professional things to focus on (advance my career, etc. etc.) but what really matters are those personal things.

Get my act together, get happy and healthy, and set up myself to hit 50 at full force.

When this plane lands?  You bet, when this plane lands… it will change me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

